Fabulous in the City


Thanksgiving Dinner Ideas
15 November 2007, 9:41 am
Filed under: Great Finds

Thanksgiving Day is coming up in a week, and I don’t know whether to be excited [I do love food and parties] or dismayed.

Everything Thanksgiving, it’s always the same thing: dry turkey and stuffing [my mom’s is the best, I must admit], football, and someone’s crazy story about the time his foot got stuck in an alligator’s mouth [a lot of my family’s from Louisiana]. So, seeing that I’d rather miss out on the party rather than suffer through the same old agenda for Thanksgiving evening, I’d decided to have my own little shindig. A lot of my friends won’t be seeing their families this holiday, so I’d figured I’d spread the love. And, as no two households are alike, I thought it would be okay to share some of the things that I’m going to [hopefully] dazzle my guests with. [I’ll update you Monday on the outcome of the evening.]

I’m going to stick with the traditional turkey and stuffing, but I’ve decided against the full bird – seeing that I don’t have enough time to cook the whole thing. Instead, I found a recipe for stuffed turkey breast on FoodNetwork.com [an online go-to for me when it comes to cooking and trying new things. For sides, I’m giving my guest a choice between greens beans with new potatoes, fried corn, my aunt’s famous broccoli and cheese casserole, and scalloped sweet potatoes with marshmallows. I’m also going to offer up some homemade biscuits, cornbread, peach cobbler, apple pie, and cheesecake – although I’m sure I’ll be hogging the cheesecake. I think I may even try my hand at creating a signature cocktail. Whatever it is, vodka will be a key ingredient.

As for decorations, the one thing that I can say about traditional Thanksgiving décor is that it always seems to involve the color orange [my signature color]. So, I won’t be straying too far from the norm in that respect. I found these cocktail napkins at Crate and Barrel that will most than likely serve as the basis of my design.  From there, I’m sure there will be a plethora of orange and autumn symbols to go around.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

