Fabulous in the City


A Note on Maternal Manners
13 December 2007, 9:01 am
Filed under: Musings

I’ll never understand how people can be so rude.

I’m about five and a half months pregnant now, and every time I go out in public [which is all day long], I get at least ten people who just feel the need to stare at me. Why is that? You would think that a pregnant lady is nothing new to humans these days, but it seems that every five minutes, someone’s eyes are falling out of their heads because they can’t stop looking at my stomach. And I’m not even that big yet!

It’s almost hilarious. Almost.

Maybe people were taught that once you’re pregnant, you can’t move or leave the house. Maybe they think that I just have a beer gut and I’m abnormally skinny everywhere else. I have no clue. What I do know is that it is extremely annoying and flat out inconsiderate to just stop and stare at someone. One woman almost got hit by a car while crossing the street. I mean, seriously, have you never heard of a working mother? And it’s not just adults. I get crazed looks from children all the time. Of course, they’re young and they don’t know any better, but it would be nice if their mom would at least tell them to close their mouths when they gawk at me. Honestly, I feel like a sideshow attraction every time I set foot into the Woodlands Mall.

This has got to stop.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

