Fabulous in the City


The Gulabi Gang
27 December 2007, 9:35 am
Filed under: Musings

As you may know, I hate the color pink.

Okay, maybe I don’t hate it so much now, but it’s not one of my favorite colors. I mean, it is the signature color of Mary Kay and Pure Romance, and I do look good in pink, but I’m not about to paint my nails or anything else pink.

Yet, after finding an article on these women, I might invest in a pink sari.

The women that I refer to are known as The Gulabi Gang. They’re a group of women in India who are apparently tired of abusive husbands and police that do nothing about it. So, these fierce women take matters into their own hands. And when words don’t work, they use violence.

These women are notorious for beating abusive husbands with lathis [traditional Indian fighting sticks]. Talk about R.E.S.P.E.C.T….

I’m no man-hater or anything, and I wouldn’t go around beating people, but I can see their side of it. After getting out of an abusive relationship myself, I’m not really all that sympathetic towards anyone that thinks it’s okay to put their hands on me.

So, if you ever see me around town wearing a pink sari, stay out of the way. It’s going to be my new way of telling the general public that I’m going to beat someone up.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

