Fabulous in the City


37 Signals to the Rescue
3 January 2008, 10:37 am
Filed under: Great Finds

As you probably know by now, I am a nut when it comes to organization. If you look through any of my dozens of notebooks, or even on my browser’s home page, you’re bound to find at least fifteen different lists – along with various versions of each one. (I know – I’m a weirdo.)I make so many lists because it helps me to get things done, in an orderly and timely fashion. That’s one of the principles that I built The Company on, and it’s still a core value for me personally.

So, in my efforts to perpetuate my organizational frenzy, I turned to searching the internet for ways to stay organized. I found various wishlist and grocery list sites, but one site turned out to be a godsend.

That site was Backpackit.com.I found out, through further reading and clicking, that this site not only allowed me to make lists, but it also allows me to make notes about lists, and whole "writeboards," and allows me to organize my lists and information on separate pages! It was a dream come true.As I sent my mouse into fifth gear, I found the source of this website of the organization gods – 37 Signals.

I immediately fell in love with all of their products. Whether it’s to organize company information in Basecamp, work on new ideas and leads in Backpack, or manage my contacts and clients in Highrise, I’m always using at least one of the 37 Signals products at any given moment. I even subscribed to their company and product blogs to keep me informed on what’s going on in these young people’s minds.

The Chicago-based company has been in business since 1999, and the founder, Jason Fried, is probably rolling in the green right now. I even read an article featuring this web applications guru on one of my favorite websites, Entrepreneur.com. He’s one of the Faces of Web 2.0, something that I plan to become intimate with.

Soooo, with all of this said, I urge you to take a look at what Jason and his team at 37 Signals are doing. I’m sure you’ll find something useful to use their products for something.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

