Fabulous in the City


LoveYourBody.org and Social Entrepreneurship
7 January 2008, 9:24 am
Filed under: Musings

I decided to take the day off yesterday [whoopie!], and I was still sitting at my PC. What can I say – old habits die hard. But I digress.

As I was Stumbling about [I love StumbleUpon – it’s a great site and toolbar addition], I found a website called LoveYourBody.org, and I took a closer look at it. Seeing that being pregnant changes your body so much, and you really have no control over it, I think I was really looking to see if they had any advice for me.

The site [though lacking, in my opinion, in the colors department] is pretty much a hub for the founder’s many projects. Ophira Edut created LoveYourBody.org as a way to show women around the nation that they can love what they’ve got. She’s what they call an social entrepreneur.

As I came across that word, I looked it up on Wikipedia [I love that site]. Social entrepreneurship is really starting to spread. It’s not just about making your annual donation anymore – it’s about treating social issues as a business endeavor. I must say, as a businesswoman I love the idea.

I’ll be looking further into social entrepreneurship, as I’m sure a few of my clients will find it just as interesting as I do. Some of them are looking to do mare than just the hackneyes donation check, but they simply don’t know where to start. Plus, since I’ve been working with them, they seem to have a lot more free time on their hands. I guess I must be doing something right.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

