Fabulous in the City


If You Ever Get a Week Off…
10 January 2008, 8:44 am
Filed under: Musings

I was checking out SpaFinder.com for a client of mine, and it got me thinking – where would I go if I had a week off. Now that the holidays are over, things are starting to get back to "normal" [as if you could call any workday for me normal].

So, with all my clients getting back into the 9-to-5 swing of things, and the phone finally taking a break from ringing non-stop, what would I do if I had a week off. With that notion in mind, I decided to take a look at the spas and resorts that SpaFinder had to offer. [Off the clock, of course.]

I had to keep a few factors in mind when choosing a spa to possibly go to. For one, I’m about six months along now [and I’m starting to feel it], so I couldn’t [or wouldn’t, rather] go with anything too fitness-focused. I think of relaxing when I think of spas, not having some personal trainer barking at me. The next thing is that while Paris and Italy and Japan would all be nice, and I do plan to visit all those places some day, I still want to stay in the States. I don’t want one of my clients to have a dire emergency and not be able to get ahold of me. Of course this is supposed to be a vacation, but what can I say – I’m a workaholic and I love it.

So, with those two extremely important things to think about , I browsed and browsed the pages of this holistic website until I found what I was looking for: The Golden Door Resort.

Even the website is relaxing [the great handiwork of some designer who was probably paid handsomely]. As I looked through the pictures and read through the web pages, I was sold. The other locations look great, but I chose the original spa in Escondido because I love the Asian essence of it. I’m a huge fan of Japanese architecture and culture, so this place does it for me.

If I ever get a week off, I’ll definitely give a great amount of thought in going there for their Inner Focus program. I would love to spend seven days doing tai chi and sen archery. In fact, now that I’ve seen this, I think I may look a little further into the art of meditation. I love the practice – I just never have enough time to really do some good with it. Maybe a week off would help.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

