Fabulous in the City


Ikea – My Heaven on Earth
11 February 2008, 9:49 am
Filed under: Musings

A photo by PinkLovesBrown 

A photo by Tara Anderson

It seems rather silly, I know, but I love Ikea.

Every chance I get [which isn’t often, unfortunately] I take a few hours to walk around Ikea. It’s like a maze of greatness. I was there over the weekend, helping a friend of mine pick out furniture and accessories for her apartment. It’s times like that that make being a personal concierge a breeze. She’s extremely picky, and I’m just used to making the decisions on my own. But I digress.

Ikea has to be one of the best places on earth when it comes to room planning and interior design. I mean, with all the different options and product lines, it’s just a matter of knowing what you want and finding it. And their naming system is so unique [a great branding tool, I must say]. It’s part of the reason that I recommend Ikea to so many of my friends and clients alike.

For instance, another friend of mine was looking for a desk. Seeing that he’s over six feet tall and loves to sit at his computer all day, he took my advice and went to Ikea [smart man]. Of course, he ended up calling me from the store – Ikea can be a little intimidating for first-timers – wondering where to go and what to look for. From my office I was able to lead him to the perfect desk, giving him the name of the item so that he could ask the lovely people with the blue and yellow shirts. He loves his desk, and now he’s looking for more great finds from Ikea to fill his apartment with.

It just goes to show you, Ikea is a room planner’s heaven.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

